WordPress statistics not updating with Blogstat, firestat or Statpress

I moved my WordPress blog to my Home machine recently. The main motivation was to have full control over wordpress. As most of you would already know that WordPress is free!, which means that you can download the entire wordpress software with source code and run it from your home machine. All you need is a webserver. I use IIS but there are several free webservers out there. By the way IIS is also free depending on the operating system you have. eg. Windows XP Pro comes with IIS. Or Windows Vista Business and above also come with IIS.

Anyway, I installed at least 15 free plugins when I moved my blog to my own machine. Yes, thats what you get for hosting your own blog. If you have a wordpress.com or wordpress.org blog, you will not even see the menu option called ‘plugins’. But, the real power of wordpress lies in plugins. Once you start seeing the plugins available out there, you will literally freak out.

So, I installed 3 plugins just to track my stats (i.e how many people are visiting my blog, what blog posts they are reading, what country they are comning from, what Google search terms they are using to get to my blog etc etc). But, I was really frustrated the first few days, because all the stats plugins showed me was 0 vistors, 0 hits….and I knew that this couldn’t be true. So, now I am sharing the one line of code which was causing all my stats plugins to malfunction. I found out that the “theme” that I was using for my Blog had a missing line of code in the header.php file. So, I just added this line of code and wallah!!!! all the plugins started showing me stats instantly. This is what I did to start making it work…………

<div id=”sitetitle”>
<h1><a href=”<?php bloginfo(‘url’); ?>”><?php bloginfo(‘name’); ?></a></h1>
<h2><?php bloginfo(‘description’); ?></h2>
</div>

<div id=”menu”>
<ul>
<li><a href=”<?php bloginfo(‘url’); ?>”>home</a></li>
<?php wp_list_pages(‘title_li=’); ?>
</ul>
</div>
<?php wp_head(); ?> <– This is the line I changed.

Leave a comment if this does or doesn’t work for you.

2 thoughts on “WordPress statistics not updating with Blogstat, firestat or Statpress

  1. So here we are…

    Yesterday i’ve changed theme at MyBlog and today (after 24H) WP-Stats tells me that i had no visitors. That’s kinda impossible for a blog that daily arrive at a minimum of 50 visitors.

    I’ve checked my theme for the headersheet that you’ve writed over there, but mine is kinda different:

    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="; charset=” />

    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="” />

    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="/ie.css” />

    <script type="text/javascript" src="/js/jquery-1.3.2.min.js”>
    <script type="text/javascript" src="/js/jquery.cycle.all.min.js”>
    <script type="text/javascript" src="/js/script.js”>

    What should i do here?
    Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

